Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, September 4, 2024 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list is attached
- 3. Presentation Benefits of Investing in Soil Health and Conservation (Chuck Anderas, Associate Policy Director, Michael Fields Agricultural Institute)
- 4. Updates:

Monitoring Stations – Roxie Anderson provided following updates:

- Maintenance on monitoring stations was completed
- 24 stations are reporting data consistently and alert notifications have been sent during storm events.
- Met with NWS, Monroe and Vernon County EMs and Dispatch to get feedback on alert notifications and discuss any changes needed.
- GIS Intern completed ArcGIS online map of monitoring station that will be available on Land Conservation Dept. website. Links to the NWS National Water Prediction Service site are also posted.
- Flashing beacon at Opaque Rd. was tested, but couldn't trigger flashing. Working with tech support to resolve issue. Coordinating with Norwalk Village to place another flashing beacon in village.

Grants –

- David Ohnstad provided update on \$506,000 PROTECT (Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and Cost-Saving Transportation) Grant award. Grant agreement has been approved and entered. Scoping meeting will be held to put together RFP to be issued this fall. Project will begin Spring 2025.
- FEMA FMA, HMGP, and BRIC grant program application periods will open in the fall.
- Wisconsin's Pre-disaster Flood Resilience Grant application period is open until November 30. Notice of Intent is due by Sept. 30. Informational webinars have been posted.
- WI DNR Surface Water Grant project has been delayed due to requirement for FEMA approval of streambank restoration work.

Information and Education –

• Brad Robson attended meetings related to Farmland Preservation Program and Nutrient Management. Brad also obtained Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) certification.

Summer Tour – The Summer tour was on Wed, July 31 and was attended by 15-20 people throughout the day. There were four stops starting at the National Weather Service field office in La Crosse. The tour then visited Organic Valley, Vernon Electric Cooperative, and the agro-forestry project at Tucker Gretebeck's farm.

Activities -

- Monroe County Hazard Mitigation Plan update is in progress. MRRPC is trying to get survey responses from Towns and Villages.
- Little La Crosse River Producer-led Watershed Group's first meeting was well-attended. Started generating list of hosts for future meetings and goals for stewardship projects. Next meeting is set for Sept. 12.
- Bob Micheel was interviewed by Wisconsin Public Radio to speak about Climate Change Task Force efforts.
- Decommissioning of the PL-566 Dams was passed by Monroe County Board of Supervisors.

Participant Roundtable -

- Vernon and Richland Counties are forming groups to address climate change.
- National Weather Service will host an open house at La Crosse field office on Saturday, Sept. 7.
- 5. Next Meeting Date and Time –December 4, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 11:18 a.m.

Recorded by Roxie Anderson, Land Use Planner

Climate Change Task Force Meeting Attendees

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
Brad Robson	Agronomist	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Chad Ziegler	Forestry & Parks Administrator	Monroe County
Chuck Andreas	Associate Policy Director	Michael Fields Agricultural Institute
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jennifer Moran	Contributing Writer	Monroe County Herald
Jordan Wendt	Service Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Robin Schmidt	Board Member	WI Natural Resources Board
Steve Rood	Fishery Biologist	Fort McCoy