Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 1, 2024 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list is attached
- 3. Presentation National Weather Service Update and Live Demonstration of the New Water Prediction Service Website (Jordan Wendt, NWS Service Hydrologist)
- 4. Updates:

Monitoring Stations – Roxie Anderson provided following updates:

- Several monitoring stations stopped reporting and were sent in for repair. Cellular modems are being replaced and will be sent back.
- Prepare for spring monitoring station maintenance.
- Flashing beacon was installed at Opaque Road along Brush Creek need to complete testing

Grants –

- David Ohnstad provided update on \$506,000 PROTECT (Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and Cost-Saving Transportation) Grant award. The grant will provide funding for assessment and planning to improve resiliency of transportation infrastructure in the Little La Crosse watershed.
- Grant closeouts should be completed this year for following grants
 - FEMA HMGP grant for voluntary buyouts
 - o DNR Municipal Flood Control grant for voluntary buyouts
 - FEMA BRIC grant for purchase of monitoring stations
 - FEMA HMGP planning grant for integrating hazard mitigation planning throughout Monroe County's planning efforts

Information and Education –

- Bob Micheel reported on the WI Land & Water Conference held in Green Bay, WI and WICCI (Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts) Committee meeting.
- Brad Robson was a presenter at Grasslands 2.0 Ridge and Valley Learning Hub meeting.

Activities -

- Bob Micheel attended Partnerships for Climate-Smart Commodities Celebration Event at Organic Milling in Fountain City. U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, Tom Vilsack, was in attendance.
- Bob Micheel attended signing of Senate Bill 222 related to Pre-Disaster Flood Resilience Grant Program.
- Monroe County Hazard Mitigation Plan update is in progress. Surveys have been sent to local municipalities.
- First meeting to form a producer-led Little La Crosse River watershed group will be held in June.
- Presentations from CCTF committee meetings will be selected for Climate Forum/Summit.

Participant Roundtable -

- Fort McCoy Armed Forces Day Open House will be held Saturday, May 18. Land Conservation Department will have a booth.
- National Weather Service will host an open house at La Crosse field office on Saturday, Sept. 7.
- La Crosse County is in progress with development of a two-part Climate Action Plan.

Summer Tour – planning for a full-day tour, Wed. July 31. Tour Itinerary will be sent out and RSVPs requested.

- 5. Next Meeting Date and Time –September 4, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Recorded by Roxie Anderson, Land Use Planner

Climate Change Task Force Meeting Attendees

Date: 5/1/2024

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
Brad Robson	Agronomist	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Chris Jones	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Clint Gilman	Forester	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Doug Rogalla	President	Monroe County Republican Party
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	Coordinator	River to Ridge Disaster Resilience
Jordan Wendt	Service Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Robin Schmidt	Board Member	WI Natural Resources Board
Steve Rood	Fishery Biologist	Fort McCoy