# **Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, January 3, 2024 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

### **Meeting Minutes:**

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list is attached
- 3. Annual Work Plan Discussion led by Bob Micheel What objectives should CCTF focus on? What projects should CCTF be part of? What outreach should CCTF do? Ideas/topics listed below:
  - Form produce-led watershed group
  - Environmental Education interpretative kiosks and/or signage about watershed planning and flood hazards
  - Outreach by participating in Earth Week or Youth Programs (ex. WI Land & Water youth coordinator, DNR youth programs, Future Farmers of America, School Forests)
  - Outreach to other conservation and/or advocacy organizations
  - Energy efficiency education
  - GIS mapping to assist with watershed planning
  - Utilize County Farm for environmental education
  - Continue to review County policies and ordinances related to land use

#### 4. Updates -

Monitoring Stations – Roxie Anderson provided following updates:

 Alert notifications have been set on all stations based on NWS action stages that were defined by surveying monitoring station sites. Monroe County and Vernon County staff will receive notifications.

Grants – the following updates were provided

- Jared Tessman provided update on the Pre-disaster Flood Resilience Grant Program (SB222) Other
  - Dave Ohnstad provided update on effort by Trempealeau County's pilot project of using Local Roads Improvement Program (LRIP) DOT funding to replace road structures at stream crossings.
  - Jared Tessman provided update on Hazard Mitigation Plan Update. Grant agreement was signed and contract with Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission to complete work will be reviewed and entered.
  - New DNR Dam Safety and Floodplain Mapping Section Chief, Tanya Lourigan.
- 5. Next Meeting Date and Time –May 1, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

Recorded by Roxie Anderson, Land Use Planner

# **Climate Change Task Force Meeting Attendees**

# **Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members**

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
Brad Robson	Agronomist	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	<b>Emergency Management Coordinator</b>	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 1/3/2024

## **Additional Attendees**

Name	Title	Agency
Andrew Miller	Planner	MRRPC
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Dave Rozeboom	Field Integration Leader	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Ellen Tyler	Community Resilience Planner	SWRPC
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Jen Schmitz	Coordinator	River to Ridge Disaster Resilience
Robin Schmidt	Board Member	WI Natural Resources Board
Steve Rood	Fishery Biologist	Fort McCoy