Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 1, 2023 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list attached
- Monroe County Real-Time Monitoring Stations and National Weather Service Collaboration Presentation (Roxie Anderson, Monroe County Land Use Planner and Jordan Wendt, NWS Service Hydrologist)

Presentation provided online: Climate Change Task Force | Monroe County, WI

4. Wisconsin's Changing Climate: Implications for Agriculture (Diane Mayerfeld, Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator, UW-Madison Extension Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems)

Presentation provided online: Climate Change Task Force | Monroe County, WI

- 5. Updates:
 - 2022 Climate Change Task Force Accomplishments (Osterberg, Micheel, Anderson, Tessman, Eliot)
 - Completed installation of real-time monitoring stations and established collaboration with National Weather Service.
 - Stream Crossing Inventory and Assessment completed. Summary of data and rating system will compiled into a user-friendly format for the Townships.
 - FEMA Voluntary Buyouts Program (2021 & 2022) acquisition and demolition of 8 properties returning 18 acres to open space. Open Space management plan will be completed this year.
 - Brinkman's Landing, a kayak and small boat landing, was installed at one of the open space sites.
 - Iowa Flood Center Tour Monroe County staff and other agency/organization representatives attended a 2-day facility and field tour of the Iowa Flood Center.
 - Soil Health and Agroforestry projects were completed in cooperation with other agencies. Outreach done through WI Land & Water.
 - Participation in Coon Creek Watershed project and Coon Creek Community Watershed Council.
 - Development of Norwalk Dam alert notification system and assistance from Thriving Earth to complete Emergency Response Plan.

- Grants (Anderson)
 - Fishers & Farmers Partnership Grant project period ended in August 2022 and final reporting has been completed.
 - WI Department of Health Services Environmental Health Capacity Grant project period ended in October 2022 and final reporting has been completed.
 - FEMA BRIC and HMGP grant project periods are still open and quarterly reporting was completed in mid-January.
- Information & Education: Meetings, conferences, webinars, etc.
 - Tree Sales are still open, contact Land Conservation Department to submit orders.
- 6. Next month's meeting agenda items -
 - Clint Gilman, DNR Forester can set up presentation from DNR Fire Ecologist.
 - Carbon Dynamics Presentation
- 7. Next meeting will be held April 5, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. at the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 8. Meeting Adjourned at 11:13 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administration Executive Assistant

Climate Change Task Force Meeting Attendees

Date: 2/1/2023

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
To Be Filled	Agronomist	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Clint Gilman	Forester	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	Resident	Monroe County
Jordan Wendt	Service Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Kevin Luepke	Natural Resource Specialist	Fort McCoy
Mary Henry	Board Supervisor	Vernon County
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Mike Holland	Representative	U.S. Senator Ron Johnson
Molly Peters	Forecaster	National Weather Service
Nikki Krause	Conservationist	Natural Resources Conservation Service