Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 4, 2023 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list attached
- Coon Creek Community Watershed Council, Inc. Presentation Making Running Water Walk (Nancy Wedwick, President of CCCWC)

Presentation provided online: Climate Change Task Force | Monroe County, WI

Discussion:

- David Ohnstad, Monroe County Highway Commissioner mentioned County Highway PP road construction project that is currently in design phase (construction planned for 2026). Requested that CCCWC participate in public meetings with landowners. There will be opportunities to address storm water runoff and outfall treatments and implement practices that benefit downstream waterways.
- Gillian Pomplun, Crawford Independent Reporter inquired about status of science symposium. Nancy responded that an education committee was formed and will be setting up an event with UW-Madison.
- Matt Hanewell, La Crosse County Conservationist suggested that tremendous outreach needs to be done to utilize the NRCS funding that will be coming through the Inflation Reduction Act and that coordination of planning and getting simple conservation practices on the ground first will help build stewardship to reach the next level of watershed planning.
- 4. Focus on Energy Presentation Decarbonization Rebates (Chad Laibly, Senior Technical Advisor) Presentation provided online: Climate Change Task Force | Monroe County, WI

Discussion:

- 120 million dollars available in rebates for the State of Wisconsin.
- Outreach and education for homeowners is done mainly through the FocusOnEnergy.com website. Representatives will attend public meetings to provide information as needed. Cedric Schnitzler, Monroe County Board Chair mentioned that ADRC should provide residents with information. Informational .pdf will be shared.
- Free energy saving packs are offered through the Focus On Energy website.

5. Updates:

- Inflation Reduction Act NRCS funding (Justin Olson, District Conservationist) -
 - Approximately \$20 Billion will be allocated to USDA to fund existing NRCS programs such as EQIP and RCPP.
 - Funding essentially doubles EQIP program funding and is a ten-fold increase for RCPP.
 - Spending time frame will be 4 years starting in FY 2023 FY 2026.
 - Final program allocations have not been determined and conservation practices funded have not been specified.
 - Unknown whether technical staffing will be increased, but NRCS is in process of filling vacant positions.
 - Clint Gilman, DNR Forester, asked about potential partnerships or incentives for landowners that participate in the Managed Forest Law program.
 - o More details will be forthcoming.
- CCTF Committee Member Appointments (Tina Osterberg, County Administrator)
 - Member appointments were announced and will be approved at this month's County Board meeting.
- Other Updates (Micheel)
 - Tonya Townsell provides update regarding Fort McCoy water treatment facility and hiring of additional public outreach specialist.
- 6. Next month's meeting agenda items -
 - Roxie Anderson and Jordan Wendt (NWS) will provide update on the flood monitoring stations and National Weather Service Website.
 - Bob Micheel will review CCTF 2022 accomplishments and establish 2023 goals
- 7. Next meeting will be held February 1, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. at the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 8. Meeting Adjourned at 11:03 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administration Executive Assistant

Climate Change Task Force Meeting Attendees

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
To Be Filled	Agronomist	Monroe County
To Be Filled	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 1/4/2023

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Bobbi Jo Fischer	Environmental Analysis Supervisor	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Chad Laibly	Senior Technical Advisor	Focus on Energy - Wisconsin
Clint Gilman	Forester	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	Resident	Monroe County
Justin Olson	Disctrict Conservationist	NRCS
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Nancy Wedwick	President	CCCWC, Inc.
Tucker Gretebeck	Vice President	CCCWC, Inc.