Climate Change Task Force

Wednesday, November 2, 2022 Monroe County Board Room / Virtual

Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions attendance list attached

 Savanna Institute Presentation - Agroforestry: A Climate Change Solution that is Taking Root (Matt Wilson, Agroforestry Technical Service Provider)
Presentation provided online: <u>Climate Change Task Force | Monroe County, WI</u>

Topics discussed:

- Climate Solutions data
- Types of Agroforestry
- Measuring Economic Impact
- Challenges
- Education, outreach, programs & resources
- Demonstration farms Spring Green Campus
- 4. Updates (Anderson and Micheel)
 - Open Space Properties (Anderson) -
 - Final inspections of the open space properties were completed by FEMA and there are no issues to address. Due to FEMA workload final project closeout won't be completed until 2023.
 - DNR Municipal Flood Control Grant project period extension was approved for November 2023.
 - Future canoe/kayak landing will be installed at the open space property on Icarus Road in the Town of Sparta. Funding was approved by the Economic Development and Tourism Committee.
 - Flood Monitoring Stations (Anderson)
 - o 24 stations are installed with 3 stations left to be installed.
 - Coordinating with National Weather Service to register stations to Advanced Hydrologic Prediction Service and Southwest Wisconsin Hydrology Monitor.
 - o GPS data collection of monitoring sites needs to be completed.
 - Flashing beacon visual warning system equipment has arrived. Bob will coordinate with Highway Dept. for installation.
 - Grants and Federal Funding Opportunities (Anderson) -
 - FEMA BRIC grant quarterly report was submitted in mid-October. Grant funding has been fully expended on the purchase of 10 monitoring stations.

- FEMA HMGP Planning Grant quarterly report and reimbursement request for \$9477 was submitted in mid-October.
- WI Dept. of Health Services Environmental Health Capacity Grant final reports were submitted in early October. Grant awards were fully expended on monitoring stations (12), installation equipment, flashing beacon warning poles (2).
- Fishers and Farmers Partnership Grant project work has been completed and grant award has been fully reimbursed. Final report is due at the end of the year.
- FEMA FY2022 grant application cycle is open grant applications are due January 27, 2023. Project scoping meeting will be set up.
- Other Updates (Micheel)
 - o Tree Sales went live yesterday
 - Agronomist Position for 2023 was approved by County Board
 - Wisconsin Land & Water Conservation and Climate webinars will be held throughout November. Released new publication "A County Guide – Reducing Emissions Through Conservation". <u>https://wisconsinlandwater.org/assets/documents/Monroe-CO2e-Handout_Final2.pdf</u>
 - Minnesota Climate Action Framework recently released: <u>https://climate.state.mn.us/minnesotas-climate-action-framework</u>
 - Tonya Townsell provides update regarding Fort McCoy water treatment facility and hiring of additional public outreach specialist.
- 5. Next meeting will be held January 4, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. at the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 6. Meeting Adjourned at 10:27 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administration Executive Assistant

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Danielle Jones	Development Director	Office of Rural Prosperity WEDC
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	Resident	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jordan Wendt	Service Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Kevin Luepke	Natural Resource Specialist	Fort McCoy
Mary Von Ruden	Resident	Monroe County
Matt Wilson	Agroforestry Technical Service Provider	Savanna Institute
Nikki Krause	Conservationist	Natural Resources Conservation Service
Tim Hundt	Representative	U.S. Representative Ron Kind