Climate Change Task Force

Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Sparta American Legion / Virtual

- 1. Call to Order Tina Osterberg began the meeting began at 10:05 a.m.
- 2. Welcome and Introductions attendance list attached
- 3. Farmer Led Watershed Groups Carl Duley, UW Agriculture Extension Agent for Buffalo County presentation regarding successes and challenges of farmer led watershed groups. Buffalo County currently has four groups. The following recommendations were presented:
 - Group must be mission oriented. What is the common purpose for everyone in the group? Prepare recommendations and lists pros and cons. Help group generate their mission, understand that if it's not their idea, they most likely won't be on board with mission.
 - Agency Rep / Administrator is needed for group to help guide the group and handle paperwork. LCD or NRCS provide administrative support.
 - Determine if mission is project-based or research-based. This will help maintain focus on mission.
 - Design and host demonstrations.
 - Establish contracts or cost-sharing to help fund projects/research.

Q&A with Open discussion followed presentation.

- 4. Monroe County Climate Readiness & Rural Economic Opportunity Assessment Fred Clark began overview of project and partners. Comments on the development stages and finalizations of the project.
 - Comments on the Watershed Opportunity Assessments by a spatial analysis.
 - Overview on key strategies and recommendations
 - Finalize recommendations- Phase 1 final deliverables, presentations, lessons learned full report submitted by January 31, 2022
 - Phase 2- discussions and funding opportunities
- 5. Voluntary Home Buyout Presentation-Roxie Anderson/Alison Elliott gave a final presentation providing a full overview of the Voluntary Home Buyout Project that were completed. Roxie and Alison worked together to complete the acquisition and demolition of 8 properties, returning approximately 18 acres of land within the floodplain to open space. Presentation is published as an ArcGIS Story Map and can be reviewed here: https://arcg.is/0Gn0Hu
- 6. Updates:
 - Weather Monitoring Stations- Roxie Anderson provides update on grant received from the Department of Health Services for the funding to purchase additional 8-12 stations.
 Plan to monitor the current stations and technical issues occurring during the winter

months.

- <u>Grants</u>- Roxie Anderson is waiting on award announcements for FEMA Building Resilient Infrastructures and Communities (BRIC) grant and DNR Surface Water Grant applications. Announcements should be made in early 2022.
- Future Presentations Suggestions
 - o Bob comments to the documentary Kiss the Ground film. Suggestion to watch
 - o Iowa Flood Center Tour- suggestion to Spring/Summer
 - o Send ideas to Tina Osterberg and Bob Micheel
- 7. Next Meeting February 2, 2022, 9:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m. at the Monroe County Assembly Room
- 8. Meeting adjourned at 11:47 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administrative Office Specialist & LCD staff

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Ron Luethe	Town Supervisor	Town of Ridgeville
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Bill Halfman	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 1/5/2022

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Abbey Nicewander	Planner	Mississippi River Regional Planning
		Commission
Carl Duley	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
Christina Anderson	Climate Specialist	Wisconsin Land and Water
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Doug Rogalla	President	Monroe County Republican Party
Fred Clark	Executive Director	Wisconsin Green Fire
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jennifer Diamond	LCD Administrative Assistant	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	Resident	Monroe County
Marcy West	Director Office of Rural Prosperity	WI Economic Development Corporation
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Mike Holland	Representative	U.S. Senator Ron Johnson
Molly Peters	Forecaster	National Weather Service
Monique Hassman	Watershed Planner	Vernon County LCD and Valley Stewardship
		Network
Terry Hansen	Resident	Sparta
Tim Hundt	Representative	U.S. Representative Ron Kind