### **Climate Change Task Force**

Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Monroe County Board Assembly Room / Virtual

- 1. Meeting was called to Order by Tina Osterberg at 9:03 a.m.
- 2. Welcome and Introductions Attendance on separate page
- 3. Wisconsin Green Fire Monroe County Climate Readiness & Rural Economic Opportunity Assessment Update and Future Community Listening Sessions (Clark)

Fred Clark provided update that team is finalizing assessment and will provide final report by mid to late January 2022. Comments have been collected at listening sessions by core team throughout the project.

#### 4. Updates on CCTF Activities:

- Voluntary Home Buyout Program (Anderson/Elliot) All eight (8) properties have been demolished and returned to open space (approximately 18 acres). Final reports and reimbursements are being completed and submitted to close-out projects. An open space management plan will be developed and a final presentation will be created to document and share project details. Wisconsin Land & Water Association is doing an article about this project to be released in a future newsletter.
- Monitoring Stations (Anderson) All stations have been running smoothly and collecting data since sensor replacements were completed in September. Meeting with product vendor to receive recommendations about winter storage and weather limitations of stations and sensors.
- NWS Southwest WI Hydrology Monitor Page (Shea/Anderson) The page has the stations registered and is receiving and presenting water-level data on the webpage.
   Updated GPS elevations have been provided to hydrology team to help determine flood stages. Precipitation will be added in near future.
- <u>Stream Crossing Inventory and Assessment</u> (Bobbi Jo Fisher) Presentation on data dashboard elements and how to select and view data for each site. Examples of tool and explanation of data collection and data definitions. Purpose of data is to help prioritize projects and secure grant funding by creating stronger evidence-based grant applications.

Discussion: Link to data dashboard is on website, provide training to Towns, and provide feedback on dashboard to fit needs of Towns. Request to provide search filters to search by Town and/or roads. Request to provide historical data of sites in order to show improvement or deterioration. Bobbi Jo will attend a Wisconsin Towns Association next year to spread awareness of project and data dashboard. How can this effort be spread throughout the Driftless Region?

Grant and Funding Updates (Anderson/Micheel) – FEMA Building Resilient Infrastructure
and Communities (BRIC) grant awards should be announced by end of the year. Monroe
County's application has made it through environmental review process.

Two (2) applications were submitted to the WI DNR Surface Water Grant Program. One grant proposal requests \$10,000 to hire to summer interns to continue the stream crossing and inventory that was started for Monroe County during the summer of 2021. The other grant proposal requests approximately \$23,000 to complete an open space shoreland protection project along the Little La Crosse River. The project will reshape and stabilize 960 lineal feet of shoreline at one of the voluntary buyout sites acquired by Monroe County.

WI Department of Health Services will be meeting with Bob and Roxie to discuss the Environmental Health Capacity grant funding awarded to Monroe County for installation of flood warning systems at Norwalk Tri-Creek Dam and within Amish communities.

Donations are still being accepted through Kickapoo Valley Association.

- <u>Community Listening Sessions</u> (Micheel) Bob will be in attendance at the community listening sessions to be held at Cashton and Sparta today.
- <u>Looking Ahead 2022</u> (Osterberg / Micheel) Open discussion on what the CCTF committee should work on for 2022.
  - > Request to continue having online option for meetings
  - ➤ Host an annual regional climate change conference to provide project updates throughout the region and improve regional coordination.
  - ➤ Start efforts to create producer-led watershed groups. One was recently created in the Coon Creek Watershed between La Crosse, Vernon and Monroe Counties.
  - ➤ Ensure that we are working with other agencies, such as Golden Sands and Vernon County, to maximize efforts and provide opportunities.
- <u>CCTF Bling</u> (Micheel) Magnets were made with CCTF logo. Apparel with CCTF logo can be ordered from CCTF webpage.
- 5. Next meeting Wednesday, January 5, 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Assembly Room.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 10:52 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administrative Office Specialist & Monroe County LCD staff

# **Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting**

## **Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members**

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Ron Luethe	Town Supervisor	Town of Ridgeville
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Bill Halfman	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 12/1/2021

## **Additional Attendees**

Name	Title	Agency
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Bobbi Jo Fischer	Environmental Analysis Supervisor	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Carissa Goddeau	Staff Assistant	U.S. Representative Ron Kind
Christina Anderson	Climate Specialist	Wisconsin Land and Water
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Danielle Jones	Development Director	Office of Rural Prosperity WEDC
Doug Rogalla	President	Monroe County Republican Party
Fred Clark	Executive Director	Wisconsin Green Fire
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Jen Schmitz	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jennifer Diamond	LCD Administrative Assistant	Monroe County
Megan Duffy	Water Reg/Zoning Engineer	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Mike Holland	Representative	U.S. Senator Ron Johnson
Ned Gatzke	Resident	Monroe County
Tim Hundt	Representative	U.S. Representative Ron Kind
Todd Shea	Warning Coordination Meteorologist	National Weather Service