Climate Change Task Force

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Monroe County Board Assembly Room / Virtual

- 1. Call to Order- Meeting began at 9:03 a.m.
- 2. Welcome and Introductions Attendance on separate page
- 3. CCTF Activities & Updates
 - <u>NOAA Programs</u> Roxie Anderson gives update on the National Weather Ready Nation
 Ambassador initiative by National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Jared Tessman
 gives update on the –NWS Storm Ready Program. Todd Shea from National Weather
 Service provided further information and difference between programs:
 - National Weather Ready Nation Ambassador initiative- big picture/community leader in emergency preparedness, communication and readiness. Recommends that Monroe County Climate Task Force sign up as WRN Ambassador. Monroe County Sheriff Office is currently an ambassador.
 - NWS Storm Ready Program recognizes County and Communities that meet a checklist of actions on severe weather warning systems and operations. Includes Spotter Training and specific community awareness and preparedness.

Bob asks the committee as a whole their thoughts on application- CCTF committee agrees to apply for the National Weather Ready Nation Ambassador Initiative.

- Monitoring Stations Roxie Anderson gives update on the NWS Southwest Wisconsin
 Hydrology Monitor page. Monitoring station locations have been added as part of the page.
 No stream level data is coming through due to faulty sensors, working with product vendor
 on sensor replacements. NWS will determine how to add rain gauge data to page.
- <u>Grant Funding</u> Roxie Anderson gave an update on the FEMA Building Resilient
 Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) Grant application. The proposed monitoring station
 sites had an environmental review completed and a 30-day public notice for review and
 comment has been posted. Grant awards should be announced this fall.
- Voluntary Buyout program update- Roxie Anderson gives update on all 8 properties
 progressing through program. All eight (8) properties are acquired and four (4) properties
 have been demolished and returned to open space. Remaining demolitions should be
 completed by end of September. An open space management plan will be developed to
 determine best practices and uses for properties.
- <u>CCTF Objectives</u> Bob comments on the overview of the Climate Change Task Force and the 10 objectives. CCTF began in July 2019- Prior to that date numerous storm events led to the formation of the CCTF, 2018 and 2019 created significant damage. Bob comments on the CCTF website- the public can locate projects, minutes, agenda, information sharing, and

education.

4. <u>Presentation</u> - Standardized Assessment of Monroe County Stream Crossing presentation (Mykel Yancey & Lily Adams)

Bob Micheel introduces the Interns assigned to the project. Mykel Yancey begins with the overview of the project. Lily Adams continues with overview of what they have found during the assessments.

More information on the Dashboard visit:

https://midnr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/d7f355deda9a4bfe85df268785c0cd7b

For Presentation Slideshow visit: https://www.co.monroe.wi.us/government/county-board-of-supervisors/boards-committees/climate-change-task-force/road-stream-crossing-assessment

Open for comments and questions to the presentation. Feedback and suggestions for moving forward.

5. <u>Presentation</u> - Monroe County Climate Readiness and Rural Economic Opportunity Assessment (Fred Clark & Team)

For Presentation Slideshow visit: https://www.co.monroe.wi.us/government/county-board-of-supervisors/boards-committees/climate-change-task-force/greenfire-project

Fred Clark begins presentation and Overview of the Monroe County Climate Readiness and Rural Economic Opportunity Assessment. Provides updates to the plan and the current goal to have complete by end of November 2021. Heather Stricker & Rob Montgomery also present overview of their sub-teams they currently are working on. Fred Comments on upcoming events.

Community Engagement & Community listening Sessions- Will host 3-4 meetings in targeted communities in late September: Tomah, Cashton, Kendall, Warrens. Details will be provided in the near future.

- 6. <u>Next meeting</u> Wednesday, September 1, 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Board Assembly Room.
- 7. Meeting adjourned at 11:11 a.m.

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administrative Office Specialist & LCD staff

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Ron Luethe	Town Supervisor	Town of Ridgeville
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Bill Halfman	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 8/4/2021

Additional Attendees

,		
Name	Title	Agency
Adam Balz	County Supervisor, District 11	Monroe County
Adrian Lockington	Administrative Office Specialist	Monroe County
Christina Anderson	Climate Specialist	Wisconsin Land and Water
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Doug Rogalla	Resident	Monroe County
Fred Clark	Executive Director	Wisconsin Green Fire
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Heather Stricker	Membership and Project Support Specialist	Wisconsin's Greenfire
Jen Schmitz	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Jim Leverich	Board Supervisor	Town of Angelo
Jon Simonsen	Env. Analysis Review Specialist	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Kietra Olson	Rural Initiatives Manager, Office of Prosperity	WI Economic Development Corporation
Lily Adams	Summer Intern	Monroe County LCD
Manfred Mielke	President	Wisconsin Walnut Council
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Mike Holland	Representative	U.S. Senator Ron Johnson
Mykel Yancey	Summer Intern	Monroe County LCD
Nancy Turyk	UWSP Emeritus	Wisconsin's Green Fire
Robert Montgomery	Principal Water Resources Engineer	UW Madison
Todd Shea	Warning Coordination Meteorologist	National Weather Service