Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 5, 2021- Virtual Meeting Only

Meeting Attendance Attached

- 1. Call to Order at 9:11 a.m. by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions- Tina Osterberg introduces special guests:
 - U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
 - Colleen Thomas, Senior Policy Advisor, U.S. Senator Baldwin's Office
 - U.S. Representative Ron Kind
- Updates on CCTF activities –

Bob Micheel - Updates

 <u>Stream Crossing Culverts and Bridges Inventory and Assessment</u> – Two interns have been hired and will start the week of May 24, 2021. Training will be provided by WI DNR.

Roxie Anderson - Updates

- Weather Monitoring Stations- Three stations have been installed. The locations are at County Road Z in the Kickapoo Watershed, Nebraska Avenue in the Little La Crosse River Watershed, and Klinkner Farm at St. Mary's Ridge which is the border between Little La Crosse and Kickapoo watersheds. Two stations left to install.
- <u>Funding summary</u> \$10,000 remaining in the donation account. Donations from the community of Leon have been collected and mailed to the Land Conservation Dept.

Alison Elliott- Updates

- Voluntary Buyouts Program: Acquisition & Demolition of 8 Properties along the Little La <u>Crosse River</u> - Provide brief presentation showing before and after photos of completed properties. Three sites have been acquired and demolished. Remaining 5 sites are in progress of acquisitions.
- 4. New Federal Policies and Programs in Response to Climate Change Bob Micheel
- 5. Guest Speaker U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin spoke on the following topics:
 - Acknowledges the work being done by Monroe County Climate Change Task Force in response to increase of precipitation in the area. Expresses that it is extremely important for residents to see the County take initiative and address these issues. She will continue to advocate and support our initiatives at the Federal level through the committees she's serves on.

- As the Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural
 Development, Food and Drug Administration, she is working with Congress to involve
 farmers and the agriculture industry in the fight against climate change. The Growing
 Climate Solutions Act has been reintroduced and if passed will break down barriers for
 farmers and foresters to participate in carbon credit markets in order to incentivize
 climate-smart practices, such as cover-cropping.
- America Jobs Plan will update building standards to endure current weather trends and rebuild infrastructure to ensure resiliency, energy efficiency, and modernization.

6. Open Discussion / questions -

- Supervisor Jen Schmitz-comments to last week at County Board meeting, Rolling Hills
 Building Project did not consider L.E.E.D certification. CCTF overlooked recommending
 L.E.E.D. certification as part of its objectives to promote sustainability. Tina Osterberg
 responded that items in the building will be energy efficient. The process to become
 certified is intensive and was not consider. Wallace Habhegger comments this topic is
 not on the CCTF agenda and is a Rolling Hills topic, further discussion was halted.
- Program Updates- Greenfire Kick off meeting to be held at 1:00 p.m. at the Sparta American Legion Post 100. Encourages CCTF members to be present.
- Coon Creek Watershed Meeting- Evaluation options and opportunities.
 - a. Rebuild existing structures
 - b. Build new structure below existing breeched dam
 - c. Close/abandon breeched structures
 - d. Implement watershed management practices

Public scoping meetings will be held in the Coon Creek and W. Fork Kickapoo Watersheds in June to unveil options and seek public input.

- 7. Guest Speaker U.S. Representative Ron Kind spoke on the following topics:
 - Addresses Monroe County Climate Change Task Force members and expresses thanks for the work being done.
 - Comments to the Green Act which is a bill introduced to provide incentives for renewable energy and energy efficiency. Seeking input from land owners.
 - Serving on the Trade and Health subcommittees on Ways and Means and is trying to alleviate burden of trade war from farmers and improve rural economy by increasing exports.
 - Willing to support grant applications, sign and or make phone calls to assist CCTF.
 Priority is flood mitigation and also broadband.
- 8. Next Meeting Wednesday, June 2nd 2021 from 9am 11am
 - Jay Fuhrer, NRCS Soil Health Specialist from North Dakota will be guest speaker
- 9. Meeting Adjourned at 10:36 am

Recorded by: Adrian Lockington - Administrative Office Specialist, & LCD staff

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Ron Luethe	Town Supervisor	Town of Ridgeville
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Bill Halfman	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Date: 5/5/2021

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Abbey Nicewander	Planner	MRRPC
Bobbi Jo Fischer	Environmental Analysis Supervisor	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Christina Anderson	Climate Specialist	Wisconsin Land and Water
Colleen Thomas	Senior Policy Advisor	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin's Office
Doug Rogalla	Resident	Monroe County
Fred Clark	Executive Director	Wisconsin Green Fire
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Gregg Wavrunek	Regional Representative	U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin
Holly Kirking Loomis	Deputy Political / Economic Counselor	U.S. Consulate General Sao Paulo
Jen Schmitz	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
Joey Esterline	Resident	Monroe County
John Wetenkamp	Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Marcy West	Executive Director	Kickapoo Valley Reserve
Mark Van Wormer	Director Public Works	City of Sparta
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Megan Duffy	Water Reg/Zoning Engineer	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Michelle Komiskey	District Conservationist	Natural Resources Conservation Service
Mitch Greenberg	Representative	State Senator Brad Pfaff
Ned Gatzke	Resident	Monroe County
Pat Mulvaney	Reporter	Monroe County Herald
Ron Kind	U.S. Representative	United States Congress
Tammy Baldwin	U.S. Senator	United States Congress
Tim Hundt	Representative	U.S. Representative Ron Kind