Climate Change Task Force Meeting Minutes

Thursday, March 4, 2021- Virtual Meeting Only

Attendance Taken by Roxie Anderson

- 1. Call to Order at 9:03 a.m. by Tina Osterberg
- 2. Welcome & Introductions- Tina Osterberg/ introduces all participants
- 3. Nation Weather Service Update 2021 Spring Flood Outlook and SW Wisconsin Hydrology Monitor Page (John Wetenkamp, NWS) -
 - Provides 2nd 2021 Spring Flood Outlook update. Near normal flood risk expected. Flood risk will depend on future precipitation and temperature trends. Discussion on temperatures, snowmelt, and soil moisture. Next Spring Flood Outlook will be available Thursday March 11th. Website address: weather.gov/lacrosse/2021SpringFloodOutlook
 - Southwest Wisconsin Hydrology Monitor Page- This page/tool is hosted by the National Weather Service website. Features of website were presented and will be available to the public. Monitoring stations' data will be displayed on this page along with other stations in the area. More links will be added in future as the page evolves. Webcam images will also be shown. Website address: https://www.weather.gov/arx/swwi_hydro_monitor
 - Open discussion/comments on gauges/USGS and maintenance costs

4. Updates on CCTF activities -

Bob Micheel- Updates

- Donations: currently just over \$17,650 and Village of Norwalk Donated \$2000
- Shows images of signs created for the weather stations ex. "Little La Crosse
 Watershed, Flood Monitoring Station, Monroe County Land Conservation Department,
 608-269-8973", CCTF logo will also be included. Discussion on whether to list donors.

Alison Elliott- Updates

- Voluntary Buyouts Acquisition & Demolition Update and Overview
 - Currently administering 6 voluntary buyouts through FEMA Hazard Mitigation
 Grant Program using matching grants from Couleecap Community Development
 Block Grant (CDBG) funding and WI DNR Municipal Flood Control Grant funding.
 Properties are located in the Towns of Leon, Portland, and Sparta
 - Current status: 3 properties are acquired and are in demolition phase.
 Preparing acquisition for 3 properties.
 - Coordinating with Couleecap and La Crosse County on 2 other properties.
 - Total of 8 voluntary buyout properties along the Little La Crosse River
 - Estimated time of completion will be late summer July/August.
 - Properties will be returned to open space and will have deed restrictions on them. A long term management plan will be developed.

Ron Luethe- Updates

- Provides update on the Stream Crossing Inventory. Working through meetings and
 presentations and working with multiple agencies. Comments to the design process and
 term used is Ecological Culvert Design. Having that inventory documented will assist in
 with funding and the future.
- Comments on the funding and matter of getting access to them. Hire individual(s) to get
 this inventory completed. DNR and Trout Unlimited are funding sources and will be
 obtaining further information to move this project forward.
- 5. CCTF Objectives- Moved to end of meeting*
- 6. Discussion on Governor's Proposed Budget Tina Osterberg comments on a few items in proposed budget. Discussion held, feedback and potential to remain in budget.
 - County Conservation Staffing and Cost Sharing Grant discussion
 - Bonding, discussion
 - Stewardship reauthorization to end discussion
 - Damn repair and removal discussion
 - Farmland Preservation Program discussion
 - David Ohnstad comments on Department of Transportation proposed budget- includes funding for stream crossing inventories.

This is just a proposal/summary. Budget should be final before June 30th 2021.

- 7. CCTF Objectives- Moved to end of meeting* CCTF Objectives and Accomplishments will be reviewed at next meeting
- 8. Open Discussion/Questions
 - Bob shows sample of new CCTF hat- will distribute to those who ordered
- 9. Next Meeting April 7th 2021 9:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.
 - Ron comments that Mark Lebig, soil scientist will be speaking to us at next months meeting.
 - Add CCTF Objectives to next month's meeting
- 10. Adjournment 11:01 a.m.

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

| Name | Title | Agency |
|-------------------|---------------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Tina Osterberg | County Administrator | Monroe County |
| Bob Micheel | County Conservationist | Monroe County |
| Alison Elliott | Zoning Administrator | Monroe County |
| Roxie Anderson | Land Use Planner | Monroe County |
| David Ohnstad | Highway Commissioner | Monroe County |
| Jared Tessman | Emergency Management Coordinator | Monroe County |
| Cedric Schnitzler | County Supervisor, District 4 | Monroe County |
| Wally Habhegger | County Supervisor, District 5 | Monroe County |
| Al McCoy | County Supervisor, District 1 | Monroe County |
| Dave Pierce | County Supervisor, District 2 | Monroe County |
| Ron Luethe | Town Supervisor | Town of Ridgeville |
| Jack Herricks | Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President | Town of Jefferson |
| Bill Halfman | Agricultural Agent | UW-Extension |
| John Noble | Fisheries Biologist | Fort McCoy |
| Tonya Townsell | Public Affairs Officer | Fort McCoy |
| Cindy Koperski | Program and Policy Analyst | WI Dept. of Natural Resources |
| RED = Absent | | |

Date: 3/4/2021

Additional Attendees

| Name | Title | Agency |
|--------------------|-------------------------------------|---|
| Gillian Pomplun | Reporter | Crawford City Independent |
| Kristen Foehringer | County Conservationist | Buffalo County |
| Mark Van Wormer | Director Public Works | City of Sparta |
| Robert Nigh | WFBF Board Director | Governor's Task Force on Climate Change |
| Marcy West | Executive Director | Kickapoo Valley Reserve |
| Ned Gatzke | Resident | Monroe County |
| Jen Schmitz | County Supervisor, District 15 | Monroe County |
| Abbey Nicewander | Planner | MRRPC |
| John Wetenkamp | Hydrologist | National Weather Service |
| Mike Holland | Representative | U.S. Senator Ron Johnson |
| Gregg Wavrunek | Regional Representative | U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin |
| Mary Henry | Board Supervisor | Vernon County |
| Toby Grotz | Resident | Vernon County |
| Dan Baumann | Secretary's Director | WI Dept. of Natural Resources |
| Megan Duffy | Water Reg/Zoning Engineer | WI Dept. of Natural Resources |
| Pam Porter | Environmental Policy Advisor | WI Dept. of Natural Resources |
| Sarah Semrad | Outreach Director | WI State Senator Brad Pfaff |
| Brad Pfaff | State Senator District 32 | Wisconsin |