Climate Change Task Force

Wednesday, October 7, 2020 Monroe County Board Assembly Room

Agenda:

- 1. Call to Order at 2:33 by Tina Osterberg, County Administrator
- 2. Welcome and Introductions: see attendees list attached
- 3. Update Bob Micheel provided following updates:
 - a. Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts (WICCI) plans to publish a 2nd report by end of 2021 to submit to the Governor's Task Force on Climate Change.
 - b. Bob was appointed by WI Land & Water Conservation Association to serve on the Agriculture working group- focus on farmers adapting to climate change and mitigation practices. Bob will share information with the CCTF as they move forward.
 - c. Coon Creek and West Fork Kickapoo watershed scoping meetings were held in mid-September, the comment period for the public extended until Oct 16th.
 - d. Bob recently watched the Documentary movie "Kiss the Ground" narrated by Woody Harrelson. The film is an inspiring and groundbreaking film that reveals the first viable solution to our climate crisis. Also recommend to watch, CBS episodes of 60 minutes focused on climate change. Climate scientists discuss wildfires and storms, cause and effect- Air Date Oct 4, 2020
- 4. Addressing Climate Change with Natural and Working lands presentation by Fred Clark, Executive Director, Wisconsin's Green Fire (WGF). WGF is an organization of voices for conservation, described as a statewide think tank that supports our conservation legacy by promoting science based management of natural resources. More information about the organization can be found at their website: www.wigreenfire.org

Fred gave an overview of WGF's cooperation with United States Climate Alliance Natural and Working Lands Challenge Initiative, WI Governor's Task Force on Climate Change and Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts (WICCI). The U.S Climate Alliance will be working in the coming months to identify best practices and policy pathways for protecting and enhancing resilient carbon sinks. Presentation posted on website.

5. Real-time monitoring stations/equipment – Roxie Anderson provided update that equipment has been ordered using funding from both Fishers and Farmers Partnership grant and donation fund set up through Kickapoo Valley Association. Two stations have been ordered for the Little La Crosse River Watershed and three stations have been ordered for the Kickapoo River Watershed. Equipment should arrive by the end of October. Installation to test equipment and collect some data before the freezing weather moves will be next goal.

- 6. Funding Update
 - a. Donations Tim Welch gave a brief update on fundraising efforts. Gundersen Health Systems will decide by December 7, 2020 whether they will provide donation.
 Suggestions were provided of potential donors. ITBEC may be a potential source for small grant. Consider looking into economic development grants and reach out to Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission for potential grant opportunities.
 - b. Grants Applications– Roxie Anderson gave an update on grant applications that are being prepared for submittal. Roxie is working with DNR on a Surface Water Grant program application and WEM on FEMA's Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant program and Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) grant program.
 - c. Voluntary Buyout Program update Alison Elliott and Roxie Anderson are coordinating grant awards from FEMA, DNR and Couleecap for several properties that will be acquired and demolished along the Little La Crosse and La Crosse Rivers. These properties will return to open space and will be owned and maintained by either the County or Towns.
- 7. DNR Stream Crossing/Culvert Training Update -
 - Bob Micheel spoke of two conference calls that were held with DNR to date. Working on standardized form for all municipalities in Monroe County. Inventory form would provide crossing status and condition, flood resiliency, etc. Begin with Monroe County Hwy Dept. testing the inventory process prior rolling out to the towns for consistency. This would be a tool for ranking crossings for municipalities to pursue funding to upgrade culverts. A stream crossing layer for the county would be developed for all municipalities. Because of COVID-19, virtual training would provide inventory training to municipal staff to build consistency in the process over winter.
- 8. CCTF Logo Selection Last meeting was final round to review. Voting was completed. Arin created the survey and sent out via email and posted on Facebook page. Total of 15 people voted on the 7 choices. Puzzle Design was the most voted and winner.



9. Open discussion/questions

- 10. Future Topics and Meeting Schedule:
 - Jen Schmitz makes a possible suggestion for meeting, she will send details out via email.
 - Suggestion to watch the Movie "Kiss the Ground" and Discussion- movie is 1 ½ hour long
 - Bob recommends a thank you and appreciation event for donors. Discussion for December meeting.
 - Next meeting date/time Would like to move meetings to different time of day. Tina is
 proposing changing meeting time to 9am instead of 1pm. All Future meetings will be held
 on the First Wednesday of each month at 9:00 am. <u>Next meeting to be held December 2nd
 9:00 a.m. in the Monroe County Assembly Room.</u>
- 11. Adjournment 4:27 pm

Recorded by Adrian Lockington, Administrative Office Specialist

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Meeting

Name	Title	Agency
Tina Osterberg	County Administrator	Monroe County
Bob Micheel	, County Conservationist	Monroe County
Alison Elliott	Zoning Administrator	Monroe County
Roxie Anderson	Land Use Planner	Monroe County
David Ohnstad	Highway Commissioner	Monroe County
Jared Tessman	Emergency Management Coordinator	Monroe County
Cedric Schnitzler	County Supervisor, District 4	Monroe County
Wally Habhegger	County Supervisor, District 5	Monroe County
Al McCoy	County Supervisor, District 1	Monroe County
Dave Pierce	County Supervisor, District 2	Monroe County
Ron Luethe	Town Supervisor	Town of Ridgeville
Jack Herricks	Town Chair / MC Farm Bureau President	Town of Jefferson
Bill Halfman	Agricultural Agent	UW-Extension
John Noble	Fisheries Biologist	Fort McCoy
Tonya Townsell	Public Affairs Officer	Fort McCoy
Cindy Koperski	Program and Policy Analyst	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
RED = Absent		

Monroe County Climate Change Task Force Members

Additional Attendees

Name	Title	Agency
Kristin Foehringer	Land Conservation Technician	Buffalo County
Gillian Pomplun	Reporter	Crawford City Independent
Matt Hanewell	Director	La Crosse County LCD
Ned Gatzke	Resident	Monroe County
Jen Schmitz	County Supervisor, District 15	Monroe County
John Wetenkamp	Hydrologist	National Weather Service
Tim Welch	Village President	Village of Wilton
Dan Baumann	Secretary's Director	WI Dept. of Natural Resources
Fred Clark	Executive Director	Wisconsin's Green Fire